Car Seat Safety
Motor vehicle crashes remain a leading cause of death for children in the United States, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The best thing parents can do to protect their children in the event of an accident is to ensure they are restrained properly in the appropriate car seat for their size. The Healthy Living Institute is proud to offer free car seat education, inspections and installations with our certified car seat safety technicians. Please call 702-383-SELF (7353) for more information and to schedule your personal education session and inspection.
Types of Car Seats
Rear-Facing Car Seat
Any child under the age of 2 should always be in a rear-facing car seat. It is recommended that you keep your child rear-facing as long as possible because it helps protect the head, neck and spine of the child.
Forward-Facing Car Seat
Once your child reaches the maximum height and weight listed by the manufacturer of your rear-facing car seat, he or she is ready to travel in a forward-facing car seat with a harness and tether. This typically happens around preschool age.
Your child should only be moved to a booster seat when he or she reaches the maximum height and weight allowed by the manufacturer of their forward-facing car seat. You should keep your child in a booster seat until he or she fits in a seat belt properly, meaning the lap belt lies across the upper thighs (not the stomach) and the shoulder belt lies across the middle of the shoulder and chest.
According to Nevada law (NRS 484B.157), children less than or equal to 57 inches tall and 6 years of age must ride in a car seat. Children under two years of age must be restrained in a rear-facing car seat, in the backseat of a vehicle. Parents found in violation of this law could face a fine of $100 for the first offense and driver’s license suspension for the third offense.
Providing Car Seats to Families in Need
Car seats are required by law and essential to ensuring the safety of children on our roads. The Healthy Living institute, with the help of its generous sponsors, provides qualifying low-income families with free car seats. To find out if you qualify or to schedule an appointment with one of our certified car seat safety technicians, please call 702-383-SELF (7353).
Register Your Car Seat
It is important to register your car seat with the manufacturer to receive recall and safety notices. To learn how to register your car seat, click here.
This translation is provided by Google Translate. University Medical Center of Southern Nevada makes no representations or warranties of any kind, whether express or implied, regarding the accuracy of the translation provided above.